Horticulture

These courses cover a wide range of gardening topics, including hands-on gardening, container gardening, vegetable gardening, backyard chicken raising, pruning, shade gardening, perennial gardening, composting, lawn care, bonsai, beekeeping, edible plants, herb gardening, organic gardening, orchids, and houseplants. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Vegetable Gardening Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 9:30am

Organic Gardening: A Fresh Approach

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 12:30pm

Growing a Cook's Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 10:00am

Gardening in Containers

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 3, 2014 - 1:00pm

Distinctive Annuals

  • Start Date: Thursday, May 8, 2014 - 6:30pm

Summer Garden Maintenance

  • Start Date: Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 1:00pm

Made for the Shade Hanging Basket

  • Start Date: Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 6:30pm

The Emerald Ash Borer: What You Need To Know

  • Start Date: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 10:00am

Get Started With Roses

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 9:30am

Get Started With Annuals

  • Start Date: Sunday, June 1, 2014 - 1:00pm

Summer Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 10:00am

The Front Yard Forager Workshop

  • Start Date: Friday, June 20, 2014 - 6:00pm

Introduction to Plant Families

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 16, 2014 - 9:00am

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 - 10:00am

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 10:00am