Horticulture

These courses cover a wide range of gardening topics, including hands-on gardening, container gardening, vegetable gardening, backyard chicken raising, pruning, shade gardening, perennial gardening, composting, lawn care, bonsai, beekeeping, edible plants, herb gardening, organic gardening, orchids, and houseplants. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Bonsai: Beginner-Basics and Fundamentals

  • Start Date: Tuesday, January 13, 2015 - 6:00pm

Welcome to your Midwest Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 24, 2015 - 10:00am

Glass Jar Terrarium Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 6:30pm

Bonsai Specialty Series

  • Start Date: Friday, January 30, 2015 - 9:00am

Bonsai Display 101

  • Start Date: Friday, January 30, 2015 - 9:00am

Beginning Beekeeping Workshop

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 7, 2015 - 9:00am

Soils: Where Are Your Roots?

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 7, 2015 - 9:30am

Starting from Seed

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 14, 2015 - 9:30am

Grow Orchids on Your Windowsill

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 14, 2015 - 1:00pm

Fruit Trees for the Beginner

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 21, 2015 - 9:30am

Exciting Annuals: Getting Ready for Spring

  • Start Date: Monday, February 23, 2015 - 6:30pm

Choosing the Right Container for Your Tree

  • Start Date: Friday, February 27, 2015 - 9:00am

Brambles and Berries for the Beginner

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 28, 2015 - 9:30am

The Story of Vanilla

  • Start Date: Thursday, March 5, 2015 - 1:00pm

Success with Trees and Shrubs

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 9:30am

Growing Salads Indoors

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 9:30am

Orchids for Beginners

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 1:00pm

Small Space Food Gardens

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 7, 2015 - 1:00pm

The Orchid and the Pot

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 1:00pm

Chronicle of a Vegetable Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 21, 2015 - 9:30am

Pruning Principles

  • Start Date: Sunday, March 22, 2015 - 1:00pm

Soil Science and Fertilizing

  • Start Date: Friday, March 27, 2015 - 9:00am

Spring Lawn Care for Homeowners

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 9:00am

Raising Backyard Chickens

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 10:00am

Poultry Palooza!

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 10:00am

Chicken Coop Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 1:00pm

Growing a Cook's Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 1:00pm

Spring Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 6:30pm

Four Seasons of Beauty: The Chicago Botanic Garden Container Series

  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 6:30pm

Refinement Workshop

  • Start Date: Friday, April 24, 2015 - 9:00am

Keeping Your Chickens Healthy

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 25, 2015 - 1:00pm

Summer Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 6:30pm

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 6:30pm

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 6:30pm