Horticulture

These courses cover a wide range of gardening topics, including hands-on gardening, container gardening, vegetable gardening, backyard chicken raising, pruning, shade gardening, perennial gardening, composting, lawn care, bonsai, beekeeping, edible plants, herb gardening, organic gardening, orchids, and houseplants. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Bonsai: Novice-Development Techniques

  • Start Date: Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 6:30pm

Bonsai: Intermediate-Refinement Techniques

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 23, 2014 - 9:00am

Aquatics for Ponds and Containers

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 23, 2014 - 9:00am

Bonsai: Advanced-Presentation-Quality Efforts

  • Start Date: Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 9:00am

Bonsai: Beginner-Basics and Fundamentals

  • Start Date: Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 1:00pm

Fall Garden Care

  • Start Date: Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 1:00pm

The Vegetable Garden in Autumn

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 6, 2014 - 9:30am

Preparing Your Lawn for Fall

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 6, 2014 - 10:00am

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 9, 2014 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 - 6:30pm

Tea 101: Getting to Know Tea

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 13, 2014 - 1:00pm

Coffee 101: Coffee Basics & Sustainable Production

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 1:00pm

Backstage Pass: Secrets of the Garden Wall

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 1:30pm

Discover Ornamental Grasses

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 27, 2014 - 9:30am

Bonsai: Novice-Development Techniques, Fall Session

  • Start Date: Wednesday, October 8, 2014 - 6:30pm

Bonsai: Intermediate-Refinement Techniques, Fall Session

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 9:00am

Bulbs for Beginners

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 9:00am

Bonsai: Advanced-Presentation-Quality Efforts, Fall Session

  • Start Date: Sunday, October 12, 2014 - 9:00am

Bonsai: Beginner-Basics and Fundamentals, Fall Session

  • Start Date: Sunday, October 12, 2014 - 1:00pm

Peonies Rediscovered

  • Start Date: Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 6:30pm

The Great Divide

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 18, 2014 - 1:00pm

Plant Propagation Made Easy

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 9:30am

Poultry Palooza!

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 10:00am

Raising Backyard Chickens

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 10:00am

Snow Birds: Winter Care for Chickens

  • Start Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 1:30pm

Urban Composting

  • Start Date: Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 9:00am

Holiday Lighting Techniques

  • Start Date: Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 6:30pm

Preparing Roses for Winter

  • Start Date: Saturday, November 8, 2014 - 9:00am

Hands-On Gardening-End of Season Pruning

  • Start Date: Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 1:00pm

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 6:30pm

Basic Pruning for Homeowners

  • Start Date: Saturday, December 6, 2014 - 1:00pm