For Families

Sukkot Family Activities

Celebrate the Jewish harvest holiday Sukkot with arts and crafts activities to decorate the sukkah.

Sunday, October 12, 2014
11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Celebrate the Jewish harvest holiday Sukkot! Families are invited to help decorate the branch-covered sukkah, which will be on display from October 9 – 15 at the Regenstein Fruit & Vegetable Garden. These activities are provided by the National Council of Jewish Women, Chicago North Shore Section. 

Click here for more information on the Sukkah display.

Sun, 10/12/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00

Malott Japanese Garden Summer Festival

Kids of all ages can celebrate summer by making a paper fan, kite, and more!

Saturday, August 16 & Sunday, August 17, 2014
10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Learn about the summer festivals (matsuri) celebrated in Japan during this special weekend of activities. Listen to taiko drum and koto harp music, enjoy traditional folktales, and watch a tea ceremony. Kids of all ages can make projects to celebrate summer — fold origami, create a paper fan, make a kite, and more at family-friendly, hands-on stations. 

Repeats every day until Sun Aug 17 2014 .
Sat, 08/16/2014 - 10:00 to 14:00
Sun, 08/17/2014 - 10:00 to 14:00

Kite Festival

Enjoy soaring, stunt-kite performances set to music.

Saturday and Sunday
August 9 and 10, 2014
10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Kite-Flying Performances and Kite-Making Workshops

In the meadow west of Evening Island, enjoy soaring stunt-kite performances set to music by members of the Chicago Fire Kite Team and members of the Kite Society of Wisconsin & Illinois.

Repeats every day until Sun Aug 10 2014 .
Sat, 08/09/2014 - 10:00 to 15:00
Sun, 08/10/2014 - 10:00 to 15:00
Interest: 

Father's Day Canoe Adventure

A rare opportunity to canoe the lakes of the Chicago Botanic Garden.

Saturday, June 15, 9 a.m., 11 a.m., and 1 p.m. (ALL SOLD OUT)
Sunday, June 16, 9 a.m., 11 a.m., and 1 p.m. (ALL SOLD OUT)

Maximum of three participants per boat. 
Participants must be at least 5 years old and those under 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Repeats every day until Sun Jun 16 2013 .
Sat, 06/15/2013 - 09:00 to 10:00
Sun, 06/16/2013 - 09:00 to 10:00
2013 - 11:00
2013 - 13:00
Interest: 

Dancin' Sprouts

Leonardo and the Makin' Waves Band

Wednesday, July 30
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

This Parents' Choice Award-winning family musician performs original songs and traditional favorites that entertain, educate, and empower audiences of all ages and abilities.  The high-energy, interactive concert is a celebration of possibilities. With fun props and a colorful set, this concert is a pep rally, rock 'n' roll show, and beach party all on one stage.

Wed, 07/30/2014 - 17:30 to 19:30

Dancin' Sprouts

Mr. Singer & the Sharp Cookies

Wednesday, June 25
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Mr. Singer & the Sharp Cookies, Chicago’s favorite family band makes super-rockin’, positive music at family-friendly volumes.  Their repertoire includes originals and classic tunes, bridging genres from swing to rock to samba. Be prepared for memorable singalongs, thumping rhythms, and a high-energy call and response!

Wed, 06/25/2014 - 17:30 to 19:30

Dancin' Sprouts

Miss Aimee Leigh

Wednesday, August 28
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Miss Aimee Leigh has been thrilling audiences with her hilarious, high-energy children's songs for over a decade. A talented guitar player with a beautiful voice, she will get the crowd moving with her American folk/roots, jazz, and bluegrass music. She has a huge repertoire of original and traditional children's music that will have the whole family dancing and singing along!

Wed, 08/28/2013 - 17:30

Malott Japanese Garden Family Sundays

Drop by the Elizabeth Hubert Malott Japanese Garden for hands-on activities related to Japanese arts and culture.

June 1 & 15, July 6 & 20, August 3, September 7 & 21, 2014
11 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Drop by the Malott Japanese Garden for hands-on activities related to Japanese arts and culture. Practice using chopsticks, rake miniature dry gardens, make Japanese kites, and more. The free activities vary each time and are subject to change. 

Repeats every month on June, July, August, September on the first Sunday and on the third Sunday until Sun Sep 21 2014 except Sun Aug 17 2014.
Sun, 06/01/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/15/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/06/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/20/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/03/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/07/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/21/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00

Nature Nights: Ready, Set, Garden!

Bring a picnic dinner and spend an evening in the Garden! Learn some gardening basics as you plan, plant, mulch, and water in the Grunsfeld Children's Growing Garden.

Saturdays, June 7 or 21, 2014
5 – 7:30 p.m.

Discover what plants need to grow and learn some gardening basics as you plan, plant, mulch, and water in the Grunsfeld Children’s Growing Garden. Then, pot up a plant to grow in your own garden at home.

Repeats every 2 weeks every Saturday until Sat Jun 21 2014 .
Sat, 06/07/2014 - 17:00 to 19:30
Sat, 06/21/2014 - 17:00 to 19:30
Interest: 

Grunsfeld Children's Growing Garden Family Drop-In Activities

Get close to nature while discovering where food comes from and how plants grow.

May 31 – August 31, 2014
Monday – Friday
Noon – 4 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays
10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Get close to nature at the Grunsfeld Children's Growing Garden. Discover where food comes from and how plants grow. Pollinate flowers, dissect seeds, see roots growing, compost with worms, create a rainbow for healthy eating, and more. Activities vary from week to week. Weather permitting.

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Aug 31 2014 .
Sat, 05/31/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/01/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 06/07/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/08/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 06/14/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/15/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 06/21/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/22/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 06/28/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/29/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 07/05/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/06/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 07/12/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/13/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 07/19/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/20/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 07/26/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/27/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 08/02/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/03/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 08/09/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/10/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 08/16/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/17/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 08/23/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/24/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 08/30/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/31/2014 - 10:00 to 16:00

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - For Families