For Families

Breakfast with Santa

Visit with Santa and see Wonderland Express!

Saturday and Sunday, December 13 and 14, 2014
8:30 a.m.
,  9:30 a.m., and 10:30 a.m.

Adult: member/nonmember: $30/$35
Child (3-12 yrs): member/nonmember: $22/$27
Children 2 and under are free.

Ticket price includes parking, a buffet meal, a visit with Santa, and exclusive access to Wonderland Express.

Repeats every day until Sun Dec 14 2014 .
Sat, 12/13/2014 - 08:30
Sun, 12/14/2014 - 08:30
2014 - 09:30
2014 - 10:30

Wonderland Express

Exhibition of miniature trains winds over bridges, under trestles, and through mini-replicas of Chicago's favorite landmarks.

November 28, 2014 – January 4, 2015
Daily, 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Click here for more info.

Repeats every day until Sun Jan 04 2015 except Thu Dec 25 2014.
Fri, 11/28/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 11/29/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 11/30/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Mon, 12/01/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Tue, 12/02/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Wed, 12/03/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Thu, 12/04/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Fri, 12/05/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 12/06/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 12/07/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Mon, 12/08/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Wed, 12/10/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Thu, 12/11/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Fri, 12/12/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 12/13/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 12/14/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Mon, 12/15/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Tue, 12/16/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Wed, 12/17/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Thu, 12/18/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Fri, 12/19/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 12/20/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 12/21/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Mon, 12/22/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Tue, 12/23/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Wed, 12/24/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Fri, 12/26/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 12/27/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 12/28/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Mon, 12/29/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Tue, 12/30/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Wed, 12/31/2014 - 10:00 to 18:00
Thu, 01/01/2015 - 10:00 to 18:00
Fri, 01/02/2015 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sat, 01/03/2015 - 10:00 to 18:00
Sun, 01/04/2015 - 10:00 to 18:00

Trains, Tricks & Treats

Enjoy a frightfully good time in the Model Railroad Garden!

Saturday, October 18, and Sunday, October 19, 2014
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Adults: $6
Seniors: $5
Children (3–12 yrs): $4
Children (2 and under): Free
Members save $1

Families are invited to come in costume and trick-or-treat throughout the Model Railroad Garden to celebrate Halloween and the end of the railroad's season at Trains, Tricks & Treats.

Repeats every day until Sun Oct 19 2014 .
Sat, 10/18/2014 - 10:00 to 17:00
Sun, 10/19/2014 - 10:00 to 17:00

Sukkot Family Activities

Celebrate the Jewish harvest holiday Sukkot with arts and crafts activities to decorate the sukkah.

Sunday, October 12, 2014
11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Celebrate the Jewish harvest holiday Sukkot! Families are invited to help decorate the branch-covered sukkah, which will be on display from October 9 – 15 at the Regenstein Fruit & Vegetable Garden. These activities are provided by the National Council of Jewish Women, Chicago North Shore Section. 

Click here for more information on the Sukkah display.

Sun, 10/12/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00

Malott Japanese Garden Summer Festival

Kids of all ages can celebrate summer by making a paper fan, kite, and more!

Saturday, August 16 & Sunday, August 17, 2014
10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Learn about the summer festivals (matsuri) celebrated in Japan during this special weekend of activities. Listen to taiko drum and koto harp music, enjoy traditional folktales, and watch a tea ceremony. Kids of all ages can make projects to celebrate summer — make fish prints (gyotaku), create a paper fan (uchiwa), design a kite, and more at family-friendly, hands-on stations.

Repeats every day until Sun Aug 17 2014 .
Sat, 08/16/2014 - 10:00 to 14:00
Sun, 08/17/2014 - 10:00 to 14:00

Kite Festival

Enjoy soaring, stunt-kite performances set to music.

Saturday and Sunday
August 9 and 10, 2014
10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Kite-Flying Performances and Kite-Making Workshops

In the meadow west of Evening Island, enjoy soaring stunt-kite performances set to music by members of the Chicago Fire Kite Team and members of the Kite Society of Wisconsin & Illinois.

Repeats every day until Sun Aug 10 2014 .
Sat, 08/09/2014 - 10:00 to 15:00
Sun, 08/10/2014 - 10:00 to 15:00
Interest: 

Dancin' Sprouts

Leonardo and the Makin' Waves Band

Wednesday, July 30
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

This Parents' Choice Award-winning family musician performs original songs and traditional favorites that entertain, educate, and empower audiences of all ages and abilities. The high-energy, interactive concert is a celebration of possibilities. With fun props and a colorful set, this concert is a pep rally, rock 'n' roll show, and beach party all on one stage.

Wed, 07/30/2014 - 17:30 to 19:30

Dancin' Sprouts

Mr. Singer & the Sharp Cookies

Wednesday, June 25
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Mr. Singer & the Sharp Cookies, Chicago’s favorite family band, makes super-rockin’, positive music at family-friendly volumes. Their repertoire includes originals and classic tunes, bridging genres from swing to rock to samba. Be prepared for memorable sing-alongs, thumping rhythms, and a high-energy call and response!

Wed, 06/25/2014 - 17:30 to 19:30

Dancin' Sprouts

Miss Aimee Leigh

Wednesday, August 28
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Miss Aimee Leigh has been thrilling audiences with her hilarious, high-energy children's songs for over a decade. A talented guitar player with a beautiful voice, she will get the crowd moving with her American folk/roots, jazz, and bluegrass music. She has a huge repertoire of original and traditional children's music that will have the whole family dancing and singing along!

Wed, 08/28/2013 - 17:30

Malott Japanese Garden Family Sundays

Drop by the Elizabeth Hubert Malott Japanese Garden for hands-on activities related to Japanese arts and culture.

June 1 & 15, July 6 & 20, August 3, September 7 & 21, 2014
11 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Drop by the Malott Japanese Garden for hands-on activities related to Japanese arts and culture. Practice using chopsticks, rake miniature dry gardens, make Japanese kites, and more. The free activities vary each time and are subject to change. 

Repeats every month on June, July, August, September on the first Sunday and on the third Sunday until Sun Sep 21 2014 except Sun Aug 17 2014.
Sun, 06/01/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 06/15/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/06/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 07/20/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 08/03/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/07/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/21/2014 - 11:00 to 16:00

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - For Families