Popular Garden Chef Series Returns on May 24, 2014

Open-air cooking demonstrations by noted area chefs show how to prepare delicious meals using the freshest fruits, herbs and vegetables

 

Adriana Reyneri
(847) 835-6829, direct
areyneri@chicagobotanic.org

 

Event Date: 
Saturday, May 24, 2014 to Sunday, October 12, 2014
Release Date: 
Monday, May 12, 2014

GLENCOE, IL (May 12, 2014)The crowd-pleasing Garden Chef Series returns to the Chicago Botanic Garden on May 24 for another growing season full of cooking demonstrations by noted area chefs using the freshest fruits, herbs and vegetables. The free events take place at 1:30 and 2:30 p.m. each Saturday and Sunday through October 12 in the Regenstein Fruit & Vegetable Garden. Amphitheater seating, surrounded by lush garden beds, affords a pleasant view of the open-air kitchen. Seating is provided on a first-come, first-served basis. Sun protection is recommended. A complete schedule of chefs is attached below.

Visitors can stroll through the Fruit & Vegetable Garden before or after the demonstration to discover the best edible plants to grow in the Chicago area and learn more about the organic growing techniques used throughout the Garden.

Fruit & Vegetable Garden Discovery Programs take place Wednesdays through Sundays from May 14 through October 5, 2014. Hours are 11 a.m. through 3 p.m. Wednesday through Friday, and 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Volunteers present information on composting, edible flowers, integrated pest management and a variety of other vegetable gardening topics. Each month, visitors can take home a different type of plant seeds or seedling with a care sheet or recipe: ‘Boothby’s Blond’ cucumber (heirloom variety) seeds in May; ‘White Cherry’ heirloom tomato seedling in June; ‘Napoletano Bolloso’ basil seedling in July; sage seedling in August; and ‘Halbhoher Gruner Krauser’ kale seedling in September.

The lineup for Garden Chef Series 2014 is:

 

Saturday, May 24
312 Chicago—Chicago, IL
Luca Corazzina

Sunday, May 25
Shanghai Terrace at The Peninsula Chicago—Chicago, IL
Ivan Yuen

Saturday, May 31
Fountainhead/The Bar on Buena—Chicago, IL
Cleetus Friedman

Sunday, June 1
Real Urban Barbecue—Highland Park and Vernon Hills, IL
Jeff Shapiro

Saturday, June 7
Found Kitchen and Social House—Evanston, IL
Nicole Pederson

Sunday, June 8
NEAR—Barrington, IL
Gaetano Nardulli

Saturday, June 14
Di Pescara—Northbrook, IL
Dave Boehm

Sunday, June 15
Sable Kitchen & Bar—Chicago, IL
Heather Terhune

Saturday, June 21
Culinary Landscape, Chicago Botanic Garden—Glencoe, IL
Michael Kingsley

Sunday, June 22
My Private Chef, Inc.—Chicago, IL
Christopher Tong

Saturday, June 28
SpritzBurger/Tru—Chicago, IL
Gale Gand

Sunday, June 29
Now We’re Cookin’—Evanston, IL
Nell Funk

Saturday, July 5
Atwood Café—Chicago, IL
Nick Bajal

Sunday, July 6
Dirk’s Fish and Gourmet Shop—Chicago, IL
Terry & Dirk Fucik

 

Saturday, August 30
Pierrot Gourmet at The Peninsula Chicago—Chicago, IL
Eric David

Sunday, August 31
Ad-Lib Geocafe—Lindenhurst, IL
Rick Starr

Saturday, September 6
Special Events, Museum of Science and Industry—Chicago, IL
Brad Bussen

Sunday, September 7
Glen Prairie—Glen Ellyn, IL
Danny Ovanin

Saturday, September 13
Centered Chef—Chicago, IL
Ryan Hutmacher

Sunday, September 14
The Hearty Boys—Chicago, IL
Steve McDonagh & Dan Smith

Saturday, September 20
Libertad—Skokie, IL
Armando Gonzalez

Sunday, September 21
The Chopping Block—Chicago, IL
Shelley Young

Saturday, September 27
NorthShore University HealthSystem—Evanston, IL
Geeta Maker-Clark, M.D.
Hewn Bakery - Evanston
Ellen King

Sunday, September 28
Diva Chocolates & Confections, Inc.—Chicago, IL
Karianne Soulsby

Saturday, October 4
Nieto’s—Highland Park, IL
Nabor Vasquez

Sunday, October 5
Cafe Central—Highland Park, IL
Juan Carlos Median Vasquez

Saturday, October 11
Garden View Café, Chicago Botanic Garden—Glencoe, IL
Douglas D’Avico

Sunday, October 12
Tapas Gitana—Northfield, IL
Andy Novak  

 

 

            The Garden Chef Series is generously supported by Food Network Magazine and NorthShore University HealthSystem.

            Follow this link to see recipes from previous years: http://www.chicagobotanic.org/chef/chefrecipes/

###

Editors, please note: The Chicago Botanic Garden's newsroom is online at www.chicagobotanic.org/pr. For digital images, contact Julie McCaffrey at (847) 835-8213 or at jmccaffrey@chicagobotanic.org.

Interact with the Garden for this and other Garden events and programs:

 

###