Professional Gardener Certificate Program

Levels 1 and 2

In the Professional Gardener Certificate of Merit Program, students gain the fundamental knowledge and skills required of garden professionals. This training program features hands-on learning leading to a new career or career advancement in the green industry.

Who should participate? Aspiring professional gardeners, landscape technicians, landscape maintenance professionals, and other green industry individuals seeking professional development. There are no prerequisites for this program, and no prior horticulture experience is needed.

Download a program brochure
Download a sample study plan
Download a course overview chart

Current Courses

Online registration is unavailable 24 hours prior to the class start date. You may still register by calling (847) 835-8261.

Class Title Start Date Supply List
Soil Basics: Spring Session Thu., Mar. 27 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Gardening Techniques: Session C Sat., Mar. 29 - 7:30 am Supply List
Principles of Garden Design, Spring Session Wed., Apr. 16 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Botany 2, Spring Evening Session Mon., Apr. 21 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Small Flowering Trees Study CD Tue., May. 13 - 6:00 pm
Small Flowering Trees Tue., May. 13 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Small Flowering Trees, Garden Walk A Thu., May. 15 - 9:00 am
Small Flowering Trees, Garden Walk B Sat., May. 17 - 9:00 am
Hardscape Basics Thu., May. 22 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Introduction to Grading and Drainage Wed., Jun. 11 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Ground Covers and Vines Study CD Tue., Jul. 8 - 6:30 pm
Ground Covers and Vines Tue., Jul. 8 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk A Thu., Jul. 10 - 9:00 am
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk B Sat., Jul. 12 - 9:00 am